DSC_0206¡Feliz Año Nuevo!

So what’s with the grapes?

It’s a Spanish tradition we’ll be partaking in this New Year’s Eve in the town center near the big clock. Eat one grape for every chime bringing in the new year and you’ll be blessed with 365 lucky days. Not sure if it will work, but I like grapes and it’s worth a shot!

Ready For a New Year?

It’s a time to reflect, but also a time to set new goals. My goal has nothing to do with losing weight (though it wouldn’t hurt), becoming more organized (I’m very happy with my current state of organized chaos), or finding ways to combat these things called wrinkles I’m starting to see (I smile and laugh, therefore I crease—and I’m okay with it!) No, my goal this year is a book goal.

Though I’m a voracious reader, I suffer from a serious case of  “OH LOOK AT THE SHIIIIIINY!!!!” New books hit the shelves every month and my list of To Be Read grows every day. However, this year I’m determined to read some award winners. Not so I can pretend to be stuffy and pretentious and look down my nose as I drawl on about only reading award winners, but because they won an award for a reason and whether I end up loving the book or not, I want to know I gave it a shot. My novel idea (c’mon–that’s some fun wordplay right?) for 2013 is one Newbery a month, starting with the most recent winner and working my way back.

Want to join in?

Here’s what the year will look like:

January: Dead End in Norvelt

Dead End in Norvelt

February: Moon Over Manifest

Moon Over Manifest

March: When You Reach Me

When You Reach Me

April: The Graveyard Book

The Graveyard Book

May: Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices From a Medieval Village

Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!

June: The Higher Power of Lucky

The Higher Power of Lucky

July: Criss Cross

Criss Cross

August: Kira-Kira

Kira-Kira

September: The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread

The Tale of Despereaux

October: Crispin: The Cross of Lead

Crispin

November: A Single Shard

A Single Shard

December: A Year Down Yonder

A Year Down Yonder

Do you have any book or writing-related goals for 2013? Let’s hear ’em!

Amanda Hannah

