Happy 2013! Welcome to our channel surf, where we highlight our favorite writing, publishing, and/or book-related posts of the week by middle grade authors! Hit the pause button for a sec and check this out…

It Gets Verse: The Power of Poetry to Tell a Story 

by Robyn Hood Black, author of Sir Mike and Wolves 

“A successful verse novel manuscript involves more than just hitting the return key!” Robyn examines several successful verse novels, along with quotes and thoughts from their offers, in this fascinating post about the blend of poetry and narrative storytelling.

A Prompt Resolution 

by Greg Pincus, author and screenwriter

I read a lot of New Year’s resolution posts this week – didn’t we all? – but Greg’s poem on procrastination has got to be my favorite.

Best of 2012 and Hello 2013! 

by Robin Mellom, author of The Classroom series and Ditched

Robin shared a bit about her plans for 2013 (Book 3 in The Classroom series, hooray!) and named her two favorite books of 2012. Yup, I’ve added them to my Goodreads to-read list already.

This Year in Books 2012 

by Nathan Bransford, author of the Jacob Wonderbar series

I love this round-up post, especially Nathan’s thoughts on social media. I hadn’t thought about it before, but this was sort of the year it went “from fad to fact of life.” (For the record, I also fully support bringing back “the ‘Net.”)

Meet Our New Members: AKA, Fresh Meat! 

by Hilary Wagner, author of Nightshade City

I love Project Middle Grade Mayhem, and I can’t wait to see what their four new contributors add to the mix!

What did we miss? And hey – what are your goals for 2013?

