Welcome to our channel surf, where we highlight our favorite writing, publishing, and/or book-related posts of the week by middle grade authors! Hit the pause button for a sec and check this out…

Channel SurfIt’s Okay to Take a Break From Writing (Or Blogging)

by Janice Hardy, author of The Healing Wars Trilogy

And you know that’s true coming from Janice, who is probably the most consistent and fantastic middle grade blogger ever. I particularly love this: “everyone else is so busy trying to do it all, that most of them won’t even notice if you’re slacking a bit.” So true! We writers are really good at pressuring ourselves – we need to learn to let go sometimes.

Religion in Middle Grade Fiction

by Dee Garretson, author of Wildfire

I love what Dee says in this post about why it’s so important that kids (and adults!) read books where the characters have different faiths, beliefs, and lives in general. How do you handle religion in your writing?

Hands-free Books are Coming

by Nathan Bransford, author of Jacob Wonderbar and the Interstellar Time Warp

Oh, Google. You kill me. I’m really torn, because these glasses look really slick but take us one step closer to that Wall-E world we seem to be destined for.

Query Letter Quick Tips

by Lehua Parker, author of One Boy, No Water

Lehua offers some seriously down-to-earth query advice in this post. The first tip is a fantastic one, on learning to “speak the language” of agents (and the publishing industry in general).

3 Reasons I Finish Reading a “Bad” Book

by Anna Staniszewski, author of the My Epic Fairy Tale Fail

I’m totally with Anna on this one, but perhaps most of all on number three. As I blogged about earlier this week, I’m a sucker for a mystery.

What’d I miss? Let me know if you caught any great middle grade posts this week!

